

E. Harris Drew Municipal Official Lifetime Achievement Award

This annual award is named the E. Harris Drew Award in memory of Florida Supreme Court Justice E. Harris Drew, who authored the motto "Local Self-Government: Keystone of American Democracy." He was active in the Florida League of Municipalities, now the Florida League of Cities, in the 1940s and early 1950s. When he was appointed to the Supreme Court in 1952, he served as the League's First Vice President. In 1923, soon after being admitted to the Florida Bar, he was named Town Attorney for the Town of Palm Beach and quickly became active in the affairs of the League. He expressed a continuing interest in local government throughout his career, highlighted by his service as Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court. Justice Drew died in 1975 of complications resulting from accidental injuries received while assisting a stranded motorist.

This prestigious award was established by the official action of the Florida League of Cities Board of Directors in 1978 and has been awarded annually to the outstanding city official selected as the Municipal Official of the Year.

In 2003, the Board of Directors' official action changed the E. Harris Drew Award to recognize a municipal official annually for "lifetime achievement."

LOCAL VOICES MAKING LOCAL CHOICES