

301 S. Bronough Street, Suite 300 • Post Office Box 1757 • Tallahassee, FL 32302-1757 850.222.9684 • Fax: 850.222.3806 • Website: <u>flcities.com</u>

Florida League of Cities Announces 2021 Legislative Policy Committee Appointments

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 3, 2021 CONTACT: Brittni Johnsen bjohnsen@flcities.com / 850.701.3652

TALLAHASSEE, FL – The **Florida League of Cities**, the united voice for Florida's municipal governments, today announced its Legislative Policy Committee appointments for the 2021-2022 term. Ten municipal officials were appointed to leadership roles and will serve as chair or vice chair on their respective committees.

The League has five standing Legislative Policy Committees. Each committee focuses on its own specific set of policy areas that are of interest to Florida's local governments. Legislative Policy Committee chairs, vice chairs and members were appointed by the League's incoming President, **City of Lakeland Commissioner Phillip E. Walker**.

"Policy committee members play a huge role in the League's legislative efforts," said **Walker**. "In addition to setting the legislative priorities, policy committee members help to provide League staff with a better understanding of the real-world implications of proposed legislation. On behalf of the officers and Board of Directors, we appreciate their willingness to serve and thank them in advance for the time and energy they'll dedicate to advocacy efforts during their terms."

Any city official is eligible to serve on a policy committee, and appointments are typically based upon a municipal official's past advocacy efforts and support of the League's adopted Legislative Action Agenda, participation at meetings, Legislative Action Day and other legislative-related activities.

The 2021-2022 Legislative Policy Committee chairs and vice chairs are:

Finance, Taxation and Personnel Committee

Chair: Deputy Mayor Kenny Johnson, City of Palm Bay Vice Chair: Commissioner John L. Carroll, City of Largo

Land Use and Economic Development Committee

Chair: Vice Mayor Jack Dearmin, City of Lake Alfred Vice Chair: Commissioner Joseph McMullen, Town of Oakland

Municipal Administration Committee Chair: Vice Mayor Kim Glas-Castro, Town of Lake Park Vice Chair: Vice Mayor Sam Fite, City of Bowling Green

Transportation and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

Chair: Commissioner Rufus J. Borom, City of Palatka Vice Chair: Councilman Jeff Hmara, Village of Royal Palm Beach

Utilities, Natural Resources and Public Works Committee

Chair: Mayor Heidi K. Herzberg, City of Deltona Vice Chair: Commissioner Jen Ahearn-Koch, City of Sarasota

For more information on each committee and the League's legislative policy development process, click <u>here</u>.

###

Founded in 1922, the Florida League of Cities is the united voice for Florida's municipal governments. Its goals are to promote local self-government and serve the needs of Florida's cities, which are formed and governed by their citizens. The League believes in "Local Voices Making Local Choices," which focuses on the impact citizens and city leaders have in improving Florida's communities. For more information, visit <u>flcities.com</u>.