A RESOLUTION OF THE LAKE COUNTY LEAGUE OF CITIES IN SUPPORT OF THE 'SAFE CITIES, SAFE FLORIDA' INITATIVE THROUGH THE FLORIDA LEAGUE OF CITIES, INC. DURING THE FISCAL YEAR 2016-2017

WHEREAS, Florida's municipalities provide extensive services to citizens, residents and visitors each day and these services cover many aspects of the public's health, safety and welfare; and

WHEREAS, the members of this municipal league of cities shares a vision for providing excellence in every service area, and are committed to proactive preparation for, and rapid response to, crises, emergencies and concerns impacting that same health, safety and welfare across all sectors of our (region or area); and

WHEREAS, the Florida League of Cities, Inc. will focus on aspects of safety across the service spectrum during the Fiscal Year 2016-2017 and this municipal league joins with each FLC member government in this program; and

WHEREAS, local governments across the United States are similarly joined in this quest due to economic, societal, environmental and other demands; and in this initiative, FLC President Susan Haynie has challenged the League's leadership and membership to devote its resources to determining how we can best meet these, each one directly and with all energies; and

WHEREAS, we pledge to actively participate in this effort by sharing knowledge, joining collaboratively in learning and being catalysts for communicating our findings so that all of Florida is improved by this timely endeavor.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE LAKE COUNTY LEAGUE OF CITIES DOES HEREBY:

Section 1. Pledge its support for 'Safe Cities, Safe Florida' to President Haynie and the FLC Board of Directors, and commit to active participation in this initiative.

Section 2. Commit to helping with shared knowledge, to include this topic and its activities within our scheduled events, and to the promotion of the initiative's findings throughout the year as a communications source and outreach catalyst.

ADOPTED THIS 14th DAY OF OCTOBER, 2016 IN REGULAR MEETING ASSEMBLED:

SIGNATURE:

ELISE A DENNISON, PRESIDENT

ATTEST:

JIM R MYERS, JR - EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR