About the League

About the Florida League of Cities, Inc.

The Florida League of Cities is the united voice for Florida’s municipal governments. Its goals are to serve the needs of Florida's cities and promote local self-government. The League was founded on the belief that local self-government is the keystone of American democracy.

Florida’s city officials formed as a group of municipal governments for the first time in 1922. They wanted to shape legislation, share the advantages of cooperative action, and exchange ideas and experiences. Growing from a small number of cities and towns, our membership now represents more than 400 cities, towns and villages in the Sunshine State. The League is governed by a Board of Directors composed of elected municipal officials. The League functions under its Charter and By-laws, while the Strategic Plan outlines the mission, goals and objectives.

The League’s headquarters is in Tallahassee, and Insurance Services and the Technology Services Department are located in Orlando. The League is the premier provider of many products and services developed especially for Florida’s cities. Our strength and success are dependent upon the support and participation of our members. We continue to explore new ideas for programs, products and services that will meet the needs of municipalities today and tomorrow.
Click here to view the minutes from the League's 89th annual conference held August 13-15, 2015.
Select from the following departments for a brief overview and contact information.



Social Media and Videos